Reasons I workout (that have nothing to do with appearance)

1. Flow

Flow is a mental state where you are fully immersed in the process of the activity you are doing. You are so focused and so “in the moment” that you do not think of anything else. You forget what you are doing later. You forget your problems. You forget the stress. You zone out. Completely. I have never experienced this until I started working out. I experience it during weight lifting, during cardio, during Pilates and during yoga. It is the ultimate workout for my brain, my mental health, and for my happiness.

2. It gets me out of bed

I am a morning person. I will always be a morning person. But working out gives me that extra “jump” out of bed. It’s a great way to start the day. It gives me energy, it opens my mind and allows me to concentrate better on everything else I’m doing that day. The more you sleep, the lazier you become. Oversleeping makes you more tired. Get up and go.

3. I sleep better

So, I just finished preaching about getting out of bed, and now I’m talking about getting in it. Since I have been more active, I have had better night sleeps. By the end of the day I feel accomplished and need my rest to do the same for the next day. I sleep like a baby and I love it.

“If you wake up tired, you’ve been chasing your dreams. If you go to bed tired, you’re making your dreams happen”

4. Because I like it and I want to

I never dread a workout. I want to do it. I like doing it. It makes me happy. I always say if I didn’t like it, I wouldn’t do it. A lot of people complain about not finding time to exercise. I ask them, do you want to do it? Because if you want to, you will. Don’t make it be something to dread, make it something that’s enjoyed. Health and fitness is not about doing something you don’t want to do, it’s about make yourself better mentally and physically. If  it’s really a huge burden to exercise, then save yourself the stress and don’t do it. (But really, suck it up and do it)

5. I talk about it with passion

I had lunch with a friend yesterday and she was asking me about my Pilates classes that I’m teaching and other plans I have in the health/fitness field. After I talked about it she said, “Steph, I’ve never seen you this excited and passionate about something.” This is how I know health and fitness has changed my life.

tumblr_mz12fjHQF41ruu39mo1_500

Leave a Reply

