My Favourite Foods

A lot of people ask me what I eat on a regular basis or what type of meal plan I follow. Well, I do not “diet” or restrict any food group. I eat whatever I want – in moderation. I do follow IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros) closely, but not to the extreme. If you don’t know what IIFYM is, then I suggest you go to their site to educate yourself and see if it is something that you would consider. Basically, IIFYM pays closer attention the amount of macro-nutrients (carbs, fats and protein) that you need as a individual, instead of worrying about eating only “clean” or “healthy” foods. I find this is really good for people who are looking to make certain body composition changes such as building muscle, or losing weight. It really opens your eyes to how much you should be eating and from what types of foods, to accomplish your goals. With that being said, no, I do not strictly measure my food, or follow my macro-nutrient recommendation everyday because that is simply unrealistic.

Below of I have listed some of my favourite foods and why. These are foods I eat on a regular basis. No, eating these foods won’t make you “skinny”. I am not saying that you have to eat these foods to be “healthy”. I am simply listing foods that I love and why I like to eat them 🙂

My favourite foods and why.

banana

1. Bananas – I eat a banana every day. They are the perfect fruit because they are nutrient-dense. They provide me with a good source of energy, carbohydrates, and potassium  I like to eat them as either part of my breakfast, or as a post-workout snack (or sometimes both ;)) You NEED carbs to replace the glycogen you used during your workout.

pb

2. Peanut Butter –  I eat peanut butter everyday. Yes, peanut butter has a high amount of calories compared to its serving size, and it’s high in fat, but because of its density it keeps me full and satisfies my sweet-tooth. Peanut butter contains mono-saturated fat, which is linked to decreased likelihood of developing heart disease and type 2 diabetes. Also, it tastes good on everything and I eat it from the jar.

3. Sweet Potatoes –  I eat sweet potatoes regularly, and hardly ever eat white potatoes. There is nothing wrong with eating a balanced portion of white potatoes. White potatoes aren’t unhealthy and they don’t make you fat. I honestly just like the taste of sweet potatoes better. Both white and sweet potatoes are close in terms of calories and sweet-potatoes have slightly less carbohydrates than white potatoes. They are a good source of carbohydrates to have with your meals. Sweet potatoes also taste great with peanut butter on top. TRY IT!

4. Oatmeal – When I tell people I eat oatmeal regularly, they think that it’s so “bland” and “boring”. Yes, if I was to just eat oatmeal cooked with water, I would describe it as bland and boring. But, who eats oatmeal alone? No one. I like to cook mine with egg whites (there is nothing wrong with a whole egg, I just don’t like a whole egg in my oatmeal), add berries, cinnamon and obviously top it with peanut butter. I usually have this as breakfast or lunch (which ends up being my post-workout food). Oatmeal is a fantastic source of carbs and fibre, and when you pair it with protein and fat, you have a complete meal that is satisfying and does wonders for the body. Seriously delicious.

spinach

5. Spinach – I’m not really sure if people enjoy eating spinach. Like does someone ever crave a huge bowl of spinach? I definitely don’t, but I eat it regularly. The nutritional facts of spinach actually amaze me. It’s like 7 calories for 1 cup of spinach. I wish peanut butter was 7 calories/cup. Anyways, spinach is loaded with Vitamin A, Vitamin C, magnesium, iron and fibre. It’s actually like the perfect food. Basically, I make salads with spinach instead of other greens. I try to have spinach with my supper on a regular basis because of it’s amazing nutritional content.

photo

6. Questbars – I just had to add this one in here. I have a previous post on why I love Questbars -> QUEST-A-LICIOUS. Basically, they are delicious. They taste like heaven and they are a great snack, you can eat them a million ways and make so many recipes. Instead of going for 10 Oreos, you can have a Cookies and Cream Questbar and know that it is giving you a phenomenal source of protein and carbohydrates for your individual goals. You can buy Questbars here. And check out previous posts for recipes! 🙂

 

One thought on “My Favourite Foods

Leave a Reply

