If you want things to happen, you need to make things happen

…Also, it’s okay to not know what you want to happen.

I’ve been in the place where I knew what I wanted, where I thought I knew what I wanted, where I had no idea what I wanted and where I didn’t care what I wanted. This time last year I was facing the most difficult decision I had to make. I had just graduated from University with my psychology degree and planned to go to Teachers College the upcoming fall. My entire life I had always planned on being an elementary school teacher. It just was. I never questioned it. I never gave it a second thought… until the summer before I was going to actually go to Teachers College. I remember sitting in my kitchen thinking about being in placement in a classroom.. and thinking about hating it.  I remember being so upset because that was ALWAYS my plan. I didn’t have ANOTHER plan. If I didn’t go through with it, what was I going to do? I was so scared to tell my parents I didn’t want to be a teacher anymore. I felt like a failure. I was confused and lost.

I refused to do something that I would hate. I refused to work a 9-5 job that will result me looking at the clock the entire time. I refuse to be unhappy. This is why I followed my passion. I fell in love with health and fitness. I always knew this in the back of my mind, but I never thought I could do it, never thought I was good enough. I wasn’t the “type” of person. One day I had enough. I refused to hold myself back. I knew what I wanted, so I decided to do it. I decided to be aggressive and make things happen on my own. I have support of friends and family, but when it comes down to it, I make things happen for myself.  Here I am a year later…a Pilates TEACHER. Isn’t it crazy, I always planned on being a “teacher”, but never expected to be a fitness instructor. I am studying Dietetics. I live a life I love. I live a life I enjoy. Lately I keep thinking about how blessed I am to have gone through the experience of not knowing what I was going to do because it lead me to where I am today. I am so thankful for the opportunities I have and the people who inspire me to continue to learn and grow, to become better and stronger, to be a better teacher, to help inspire people to feel good about themselves.

It’s true, sometimes dreams come true you never knew you had (if you put in the work)

The point of this is, follow your dreams as cheesy as it sounds. Do what makes you happy. You’re going to struggle, you’re going to cry, you’re going to have amazing days, you’re going to have shitty days, you’re going to want to give up. But you’re going to do it. And one day it will all be worth it. Seriously, follow your damn dreams. Live your damn dream.

If your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough.

cropped-bjhjkhhoi.jpg

 

One thought on “If you want things to happen, you need to make things happen

Leave a Reply

