My Workout Routine

“What does your workout routine look like?” – another question people constantly ask me. If I could answer this question with one word, I would use variety. I don’t think I have ever done the same workout twice. I constantly change my workouts to keep my body guessing, to keep myself motivated and because I get bored really easily. Also, it’s important to change your workout because your body will get used to the same routines over and over.  I never ever dread doing a workout because I do things I enjoy and find fitness and exercises fun and empowering. To be honest, if I didn’t like training, I probably wouldn’t do it. My workouts consist of weight training, HIIT, Pilates and yoga.

photo 2-5

Weight Training

I typically do weight training every other day and I do this at the gym. I started off doing full body workouts to build up strength because I wasn’t strong enough to do a full workout that just focused on 1-2 muscle groups. Once I got stronger I started splitting my days into back + triceps, shoulders + biceps, and legs. (Or something of the sort). Currently I still do that, or sometimes I do a full body strength workout. I honestly just decide what I’m doing the day before, write it all out in advance so I go to the gym and know exactly what exercises and sets/reps I am doing. I don’t like wasting time and I like moving quickly from one exercise to the next. This keeps my heart rate up and my body moving. Also, when I first started strength training I had a trainer set up a program for me. She went through every exercise with me to ensure I knew how to perform them properly. I highly suggest this if you are a beginner because there is nothing worse than going to the gym and not knowing what you are doing. Use your resources and don’t be afraid to ask questions. That’s the only way you can improve.

HIIT

High intensity interval training. This is alternating periods of intense anaerobic exercises paired with less intense recovery periods. I love love love HIIT. This burns fat like crazy (more than steady-rate cardio) because it increases your RMR (resting metabolic rate), which means you burn more calories AFTER your workout. I honestly get a high from doing this. I incorporate high intense moves such as burpees, kettle bell swings, squat jumps, skipping, plank jacks, sprints, battle ropes and the list goes on. I would do these exercises for 1 minutes, and then recover with a less intense exercise, which is usually a core/ab focus. For example, weighted crunches, hip twist butt-ups, bicycle crunches, planks, side plank dips and again, the list goes on. I typically make up circuits with 2-3 exercises, perform them for 1-2 minutes each and do the circuit 3 times. I pair different circuits together to make up a 30-45 minutes workout and then I usually end my workout with 10-15 minutes focusing on just core. I have found amazing results with this technique. I personally hate steady-rate cardio. My only workouts used to be the treadmill and I hated it. I didn’t see results I wanted and it was the worst hour of my life (lol). HIIT keeps me engaged mentally the entire time, I focus entirely on the exercises and this is when I found the definition and strength I wanted in my core.

Pilates & Yoga

I started doing Pilates when I first began my fitness journey. It helped me gain so much strength, flexibility and control. I learned how the mind controls the body and I also learned the importance of controlling movements instead of rushing through them. I love Pilates workouts that move up and down on the mat, including standing exercises, plank exercises and of course, mat work. Pilates is no joke. It takes extreme stamina and body strength. I find it so empowering that you can use your own body weight to change and shape your body however you want. I am currently practicing to become a Certified Pilates Instructor, and I can guarantee that my classes will be a lot of “up and down” movements that will make you break a sweat, gain strength and get a killer core.

I only recently started doing Yoga and I have absolutely fell in love with it. I am currently doing Hot Power Flow yoga about 2 times a week. This is an extremely intense style of yoga because you are constantly moving non-stop, going through a series of power movements that use your entire body and also, you’re in a 40 degree room. I have never sweat so much in my entire life. It is literally the best feeling in the world. This type of yoga has allowed me to gain a crazy amount of lower body strength, helped me stretch and gain more flexibility and it’s 100% a mental exercise as well as a physical one. It’s the definition of empowering and I highly recommend trying it!

photo 1

My favourite post-workout snack is obviously a Quest Bar. If I’m at home I usually broil them because they are delicious broiled, but still just as good eaten as they are right out of the wrapper. You can buy them by clicking this link. You also get a free bar with your purchase 🙂 Check out recipe posts for ideas on how to add Quest Bars to make delicious recipes!

 

Leave a Reply

